Historic Awards Nominations

 Nominations for the 2020 Historic Awards will open soon. 

Award Categories

Continuing a rich pedigree in celebrating motoring accomplishments

The Royal Automobile Club's Historic Awards are an annual et of annual accolades to recognise excellence and outstanding contributions to the UK's historic motoring and motorsport industries. The Awards will reward achievement and innovation by highlighting an celebrating the wide range of companies, clubs, events, associations and individuals responsible for influencing and driving the British motoring movement. 

Candidates can nominate themselves or be nominated by a third party. The nine Award categories are listed below:

Competitive Event

This award seeks to celebrate the very best of the multitude of events that have a strong competitive element. This covers any event from motor racing meetings and hill climbs to navigation and stage rallies, regularity trials, and hot rod and drag races. Eligible events must have taken place within the UK, or to have had a significant part of the event take place within the UK. 

Motoring Spectacle

This award recognises the stunning range of classic and historic car events that take place around the UK throughout the year. Potential nominees must have no element of timed competition. Eligible events include concours d’elegance, tours, classic vehicle shows and club gatherings. Judges will be looking for events – big or small – that have displayed a true sense of spectacle. Eligible events must have taken place within the UK, or to have had a significant part of the event take place within the UK.

Race Series

This category aims to recognise the huge number of highly active and successful historic race series, many of which take place across an international stage, and can be organised by one of the big International organisers or by one of the many UK-based historic racing clubs. To be eligible for this award a race series must have a predominantly UK based calendar.


Historic vehicle collections come in many forms, from those amassed by private individuals to those curated by museums large and small or by internationally-renowned marques. In this category the award will be presented to a British-based collection which has made a significant contribution to the historic motoring movement in the UK or internationally.


The Restoration award will be presented for a restoration that results from not only impressive technical expertise but also a significant amount of research and sensitivity to the vehicle and its history.  The judges will be looking for evidence of a dedication and determination to learn as much as possible about the subject’s provenance, and for an immaculately-documented research and restoration process, combined with world-class skills, resulting in a sensitive restoration that is entirely appropriate to the vehicle concerned. The restoration must be UK based. It can have been started at any point but must have been completed during the year ending 30th September 2020. 

Outstanding Journalism

This award will be presented to the author of what the judges deem to be the best written or broadcast feature that has appeared in a British publication,  TV/radio/film/broadcast media or digital platform within the twelve-month judging period. The feature can cover all aspects of the historic motoring world. 


This award seeks to recognise any individual who has made a truly outstanding contribution to heritage, historic motoring or historic motorsport during the judging period. The winner can come from any part of the British historic motoring world - private enthusiast, club organiser or perhaps a specialist who has achieved something remarkable - the possibilities are endless.

Young Achiever

Aimed at people aged between 18 and 30 who are building their own future in Britain’s classic motoring world.

Royal Automobile Club Lifetime Achievement Award 

In addition to the above categories, the Club will present the Royal Automobile Club Lifetime Achievement Award, to recognise an individual who has, in the opinion of the Club, made an outstanding contribution to British motoring history and heritage, or to the British historic motoring and motor racing movement, across many years. This is the only category which cannot be nominated and is the only category recognising achievement beyond the previous twelve months.

Hermes, the ‘swift god’, who sits on top of the Club’s Tourist Trophy.

Hermes, the ‘swift god’, who sits on top of the Club’s Tourist Trophy.